Monster Hunter: World

   “Monster Hunter: World” is the newest Capcom game to be released. The game is played in third-person and the content is similar to the previous “Monster Hunter” games.

   Much like the character creation in “Skyrim,” your character begins by walking into a situation in the world. There is the ‘trigger’ character who asks for your name which launches the creation screen.

   Screen Shot 2018-02-02 at 12.31.12 PM.pngThere are a range of options, giving you almost every combination possible to make your character. Ranging from female to male, light to dark skin and young to old age options, the game is unique in its diversity. You can select the facial features including scars and face paint, the body style and structure and your clothing.

   In addition to your own player character, you get to create a cat-like creature called a ‘palico’ that helps you out in your adventures.

   As the main character, you are in charge of scouting a new world, and exterminating the massive monsters that live there. The Research Commission is the group that hired you to become a monster hunter. In exchange for killing or capturing the monsters, you are rewarded for the victory.

   The game features 14 different categories of weapons ranging from heavy to light and over 45 different monster breeds.

   Capcom released “Monster Hunter: World” internationally on January 28. It is available on Xbox One and Playstation 4. The game will be released for PC Windows later this year as well as free downloadable content. Future downloads will include new quests and new monsters to battle against.

   Upgrading your gear and armor by using materials you get from the monsters is one of the main highlights of the game.

  Screen Shot 2018-02-02 at 12.38.01 PM.png The primary area in the game is Astera, which is where the players can buy and sell goods. It is in Astera that you can also manage inventory and gain access to new quests. There is also a new skills system that was introduced into the game which involves different levels of armor and weapons.

   While in combat, it is vital to watch your health and stamina. If you lose all your health, you have to restart and the bounty you receive for defeating the monster will be less. Players only have three tries to beat the monster and if you fail to kill it, the quest will fail.

   While hunting, the player has different tracking techniques to locate the monster. A new mechanic that they added in this game was a book of information about the monsters which features information on how to locate the monsters, as well as the different abilities, and items monsters drop upon dying.

   In the previous games players had to rely on the game Wiki that fans made for most of the information about the different monsters..

   Another part of the game is scavenging for items used for health and different abilities. You can use these items to craft food, and other items to make it easier to hunt monsters.

   Contrary to the previous games, the entirety of the playable area is now one large map, which means that player no longer have to wait for loading screens to arrive at the next area and gives it more of an open world feel.

   There are different game modes available to players, such as single player or multiplayer both of which feature the game quests.  There is an SOS flare that you can launch that will alert other players who that you are in distress and need some backup or you can team up with your friends to tackle the monsters together as a pack.  

   In the story mode of previous games, you had to complete the low rank quests before starting the high rank quests which would launch the narrative or story. In “Monster Hunter: World,” the storyline begins at the start and continues through the high level quests.

Paige Rogers

Be the first to comment on "Monster Hunter: World"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.